Light source suggestions

People have been wondering about the best light box to use with FilmLab. I’m not an expert on light tables, but here’s what I can say from my own experience.

I currently own two light boxes, both of the slim LED variety. First is a Huion A4 table which I bought on eBay. It works well, except that the power supply that came with it seemed to cause flickering, so I swapped it out for another standard USB power supply. It still flickers when set to less-than-maximum brightness, but that hasn’t been a problem since I always set the brightness to maximum. The light from the Huion light pad has a cool color cast.

I also have an Kaiser slimline plano light table, which is smaller and more portable, has a built-in battery, and a warmer color. It’s advertised as being full-spectrum, which could possibly give more accurate colors, but I haven’t tested that yet. You can find these online at B&H, or many retail stores. At $118, it costs probably 2-3 times as much as one of the cheaper light tables. (Disclaimer: this table was sent it to me for free by the US distributor when then they heard about FilmLab).

Do you have a light box (or other light source) you think will work well with FilmLab?

Just curious if you’ve tried the LightPad app for using the iPad as a mini light table?

I’ve been using the Kaiser slimline to digitize film using a dslr and it’s works fine. The battery function is useful. With that said, just putting the film on a mac screen with a white background has also worked fine for proofing purposes.